HARPERCOLLINS CHILDREN'S

COMMON CORE

Common core
Common core

The Cabinet of Curiosities

By Stefan Bachmann, Illustrated by Alexander Jansson, By Katherine Catmull, By Claire Legrand

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school!

The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.

  • Grade level: 5
  • Interest Level: 3-8
  • Guided Reading Level: V

COMMON CORE OBJECTIVES AND QUESTIONS

Explain how an author develops the point of view of the narrator or speaker in a text. Describe how a particular story's or drama's plot unfolds in a series of episodes as well as how the characters respond or change as the plot moves toward a resolution. Compare and contrast a written story, drama, or poem to its audio or multimedia version, analyzing the effects of techniques unique to each medium.

What are the elements of plot in a short story, and how do they function together to create a fictional story? RL.5.5

Write an explanatory text comparing and contrasting two or more characters, settings, or events from one of the stories, drawing from specific details. RL.5.3, W.5.2

How does point of view contribute to the authenticity of the stories? RL.5.6
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • On Sale: 11/30/-0001
  • ISBN: 9780062313140
  • ISBN 10: 0062313142
  • ISBN 13: 9780062313140
  • Pages: 496
  • Trim Size: 5.50 x 8.25 in
  • Subcategory:
  • Juvenile Fiction / Fairy Tales & Folklore / Adaptations
  • Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
  • Juvenile Fiction / Paranormal

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)“A hefty sheaf of chillers—all short enough to share aloud and expertly cast to entice unwary middle graders a step or two into the shadows.”

Publishers Weekly (starred review)“This collection of 36 short dark fantasies . . . aspires to sit on the same shelf as Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and succeeds admirably. . . . Readers who enjoy their Halloween chills all year round will find this anthology a delight.”

Shelf Awareness for Readers“With school dismissed, it’s time for pure pleasure reading. . . . The Cabinet of Curiosities . . . lets readers dip in and out of 36 spine-tingling tales.”

The Horn Book“The stories are remarkable both for their uniformly high quality and for their distinctness from one another; the abundant atmospherics, including occasional stark black-and-white illustrations, provide a unifying sense of dread.”

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books“For readers who have gloried in and graduated from Alvin Schwartz’s collections of scary stories, the tales collected here will provide a deliciously tingly next step.…All are engagingly unsettling in some way, with a select few crossing over into genuine nightmare territory.”

Read an excerpt

COMMON CORE STRANDS

CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,10
CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.5.3,3a,3b,3d,3e,4,8,9,9a,10
CCSS.ELA-Literacy.SL.5.1,1a,1c,1d,2,3,4,5,6
The Page turn
Harper collins childersns books
facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Google+
Tumblr